You can control who can see and access your Knowledge Base by using password protection and/or IP whitelisting.
Password protection allows you to set a single, shared password for your Knowledge Base. Upon visiting your Knowledge Base all users will be presented with a login page, and only those that you have shared the password with will be able to gain access.
IP whitelisting allows you to enter one or multiple IP addresses that are allowed to access your Knowledge Base. When a user with a whitelisted IP address tries to open the page it will work as it does normally, but a non-whitelisted IP address will be redirected to the 404-page.
Multiple IP addresses can by entered by having each on a new line, and the IPs can be added in the following ways:
- As a single address:
- As a range:
- In CIDR notation:
Both password protection and IP whitelisting are turned off when you are in preview mode, such as when you are inside Look & Feel settings or when you are logged into your account and viewing your Knowledge Base. This is done so you are able to preview it while you are working on it.
You'll know when you are in preview mode, as the admin toolbar on your public Knowledge Base pages will show one or multiple warnings when you have either password protection or IP whitelisting turned on. For password protection it will just confirm that it is turned on and your users will be presented with the login page, and for IP whitelisting it will inform you whether or not your IP address would have been allowed were it enforced.
Access control is also turned off inside your support widget, should you have that installed. As you control where you show it, you can already decide who is allowed to see and access it.