With the GitHub integration, you can easily create GitHub issues directly from a conversation without leaving Groove. Then when the issue is updated in GitHub, you will get notified in Groove and you can even have the conversation re-opened.
To add the integration to your Groove account, go into your Settings > Integrations and click Connect on the right side of the page.
Next you will be prompted to log in to your GitHub account and authorize the Groove integration.
Once you're connected, you can add a conversation to a GitHub issue by clicking one of the integration buttons in your sidebar. You have the option to create a new issue, or you can add to an existing issue:
For existing issues, simply locate the issue you would like to attach your conversation to by searching in the relevant repository.
For new issues you can set the following attributes:
- Assignees (optional)
- Labels (optional)
- Description (optional)
After the conversation has been added to GitHub, a link appears underneath the message so that you can quickly access the associated issue. Furthermore, from this point on you will see the issue's full status right in your sidebar and all updates on the issue in GitHub as actions in the conversation, depending on your settings. You can even have one or more of these actions re-open your conversation!
Note: Settings for the GitHub integration are on an account-level, meaning that changes you make to which actions to show or which actions should re-open conversations, will be set for all users in your company with the GitHub integration installed. Actions are also saved globally, so all actions created through this integration will be visible to all agents in this account.
If you had the GitHub integration installed before October 31st, 2091, you'll need to re-authorize. To do so, simply go to Settings > Integrations and re-install the integration.
In the meantime your currently linked issues will remain linked, but to continue to see them within the Inbox, and to link new issues and enable the actions or re-opens you will need to re-install. This will now also require fewer permissions than before.